[Digital Single] Suzy – I’m in Love With Someone Else

“I’m in Love With Someone Else” is the 12th digital single released by Suzy. It was released as a pre-released single to her second mini-album, Faces of Love.


Released: January 22, 2018
1. I’m in Love With Someone Else (다른사람을 사랑하고 있어)

I’m in Love With Someone Else is a change from Suzy’s first mini’s pre-release single. Instead of something a bit more experimental, we get a pretty straightforward piano ballad. This isn’t a bad thing though and Suzy’s able to give a stunning performance. The song itself is your usual slow build-up with piano, strings and percussion into a final chorus that soars emotionally. It’s your typical sounding OST ballad, but there is something quite touching about Suzy’s performance and the melody is quite beautiful.

Overall: This is a pretty generic sounding OST ballad kind of song, but it’s still a beautiful tune and is one of Suzy’s best showcases of her vocals.


[Mini-Album] Suzy – Yes? No?

Yes? No? is the first mini-album released by Suzy. Yes No Maybe was used as the promotional song.

Released: January 24, 2017
1. Pretend (행복한 척)
2. Yes No Maybe
3. That’s All (다 그런거잖아)
4. Les Préférences (취향)
5. Question Mark (난로 마냥)
6. Little Wildflower (꽃마리)

The mini opens with a familiar track, Pretend, which was released prior to the mini’s release. It has that laid back R&B/pop sound that has been very popular the last few years in Korea. While these kinds of songs can get a bit dry and forgettable, this tune is really beautiful. I love the melody and how the vocals are distorted in a way that changes things up. Also, the music has a great synthline that works beautifully with the melody and Suzy’s voice. Strong start and I think I enjoy it even more now.

Yes No Maybe is a bit faster and has a more powerful delivery. The music has some dance elements, which lends itself well to that charged melody. What I love most about the song is that Suzy does really great here. She knows how to play with her voice to bring a sensuality and she also sounds really powerful at times. The only problem I had was that her runs did sound a bit off at times.

That’s All is a slower tune and it follows closer to the sound of Pretend than that of Yes No Maybe. The music is very relaxing and the slight R&B vibe makes me think of current R&B in America. The beat is really great and helps keep the song moving forward. With that said, I’m not sure if I’m as enthralled with the melody as I want to be.

Les Préférences keeps the laid back R&B sound, but definitely has a different feeling to it. I actually like the touches of post-disco funk that the song brings and even though it’s a slower song, it still works nicely here. The 80’s influence helps to bring the song some character. I just wish the vocals were a little more interesting as I don’t think Suzy’s voice has enough character to really carry this song fully.

Question Mark comes in and brings something a bit more acoustic and Mediterranean. Unfortunately, these kinds of songs are not my cup of tea and I usually get bored of these kinds of tunes. Suzy’s voice does work nicely here and the airiness of her voice lends itself well to the music, but there’s nothing that really makes me want to revisit this song. Not a bad song, just not for me.

Little Wildflower is the album’s only full-fledged ballad and it focuses more on the piano. I think this song works wonderfully with Suzy’s sweet vocals and she pulls this kind of emotional tune off well. My only problem is that the song just drags on and on and is rather boring. It does get some power, but the melody doesn’t quite hit the mark and falls flat with the music.

Overall: This mini started off pretty strong but just gradually declined. I love the first two songs as they had some really interesting melodies. The next two songs were decent and had some fun ideas in the music, but the last two songs just were not my cup of tea. I do like that the album focused on these R&B elements, but the last two songs didn’t and just didn’t have any outstanding features for me.


[Digital Single] Suzy – Pretend

Pretend is the tenth digital single released by Suzy. It was released right before her first mini-album.

Released: January 17, 2017
1. Pretend (행복한 척)

Pretend is a slower tune that fits with the light R&B/pop sound that is popular in Korea. What sets it apart is the chorus, which changes things up a bit by adding some distortion on Suzy’s voice and bringing in some synths. It’s a really nice touch and works nicely with the melancholic melody. While Suzy is an adequate singer, I wasn’t really expecting her to blow this song out of the water, but she does a really nice job here and her tone fits the sadder nature of the song.

Overall: This is the kind of song I was expecting from Suzy, but I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that it is changed up a bit in some areas so that it doesn’t totally sound like the usual light-pop/R&B music from Korea. It’s a nice tune where the music fits nicely with the somber lyrics.


[Digital Single] Suzy – Wind Wind Wind

Wind Wind Wind is the sixth digital single released by miss A’s Suzy. It was used as a CF song for Beanpole Outdoor.

Released: March 10, 2014
1. Wind Wind Wind (바람 바람 바람)

I’m really surprised with this song because it has a nice Mediterranean vibe that I wouldn’t have expected from Suzy. It’s a bit on the midtempo end, but has such a dynamic instrumental that things never get too boring even though it is laid back. The thing I was most surprised about was just how good Suzy sounds in this song. She doesn’t sing that much, but when she does, her tone really suits the song and helps elevate the song. Wind Wind Wind is gorgeous!

Overall: This isn’t my style of music, but this is a really nice tune and I’m pleasantly surprised by how gorgeous it is. Suzy sounds great and the guitar throughout the song is magnificent.