[Album] Rainie Yang – My Intuition

Rainie Yang initially began in a girl group called 4 in Love, but soon her success in some hit dramas led her to branch out on her own. Her debut album, My Intuition, was released with great anticipation and her debut single, the title track, was a huge hit in Taiwan. Since then, she has released a number of albums and appeared in many dramas.

Released: September 9, 2005
1. Are You Obedient? (乖不乖)
2. Ambiguous (曖昧)
3. Ideal Lover (理想情人)
4. Just Wanna Love You (只想愛你)
5. Single Eyelids (單眼皮)
6. Habit (習慣)
7. Disappear (不見)
8. Color of Love (愛情的顏色)
9. True Blue
10. Next Time’s Smile (下一次微笑)

I like that the album opens on an upbeat note with Are You Obedient?, which is a funky pop tune with a cool guitar line. I like that they tried to spice it up a bit with the music, although I don’t think Rainie’s vocals are particularly eventful. Her sweet tone doesn’t suit this style. It’s still a catchy tune though. The title track, Ambiguous, is a stunning pop ballad. It’s definitely more on the generic side of Mandopop ballads with its gentle guitar, piano and synths, but what makes it so stunning is the gorgeous melody. It’s quite memorable and Rainie sings the lyrics with such conviction that she really elevates the song. Her sweet tone definitely works best here. Ideal Lover is more on the midtempo side of things, although it still sounds like a ballad. It starts in a pretty gentle way. The verses actually remind me a bit of “Part of Your World” from the Little Mermaid. The chorus has more energy to it, which provides a nice contrast  to the last song. Unfortunately, I don’t think the melody is as strong. It’s a solid tune, just not a stand out. Just Wanna Love You is your standard Mandopop tune. I really like how Rainie sounds in the verses and she utilizes a bit more of her lower register. I do like the laid back vibe of the melody and it works really nicely with the music. This was a surprisingly nice tune. Single Eyelids is the first upbeat tune since the first track and it takes on a more pop/rock approach. While the music is fun and reminds me of the 90’s, I’m not quite into the melody. It isn’t particularly melodic and just sounds like Rainie is trying to get in as many words as she could. It’s a bit underwhelming, although not a bad track. Habit slows things back down with another ballad. This time, we are given something a bit more dramatic with the elegant strings and grand sounding melody. I do think the song is rather nice, but Rainie’s vocals are a bit weak at this point to really elevate the song to the next level. I do like the bridge a lot it brings in some heavy guitars to step the song up. Disappear is a midtempo bubblegum pop song. It’s the sweetest sounding song on the album and works nicely with Rainie’s voice. Unfortunately, I feel like it’s a bit of a forgettable tune as the melody isn’t particular interesting. The music is also rather laidback. Color of Love is a slower pop tune and I quite like how it starts off. The instruments are all very soft and come in slowly. My only problem with the song is that transition into the chorus. The song is so calm and then this sudden transition is really jarring. I’m not particularly fond of the chorus melody either. True Blue is the most upbeat song on the album and is an exciting upbeat pop tune with some rock elements. I actually like the verses more than the chorus as while the melody is catchy, it just doesn’t stick. It’s a decent tune though and the best of the upbeat songs. I’m not quite sure what to think of Next Time’s Smile. It is like a ballad, but has a brighter arrangement to it. It’s quite calming and is a nice tune, but I think it is the weakest of the ballads. The singing is a bit shaky and the song isn’t particularly memorable. It does end the album on a gentle note, but it isn’t that exciting.

Overall: I didn’t know what to expect coming into this album, but I’m just slightly disappointed. I love the title track and it is one of my favourite Chinese songs, so I was hoping for at least another stellar tune. Unfortunately, there wasn’t anything particularly strong. With that said, there are some decent tunes and a bit of variety that keeps things interesting.